Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou, and Donna Strickland have won the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 for their work with lasers. Half of the prize goes to Ashkin and the other half is shared by Mourou and Donna.

Ashkin was awarded for the invention of “optical tweezers” that grab particles, atoms, viruses and other living cells without damaging them, while Mourou and Donna were given the honour for creating the ultrashort high-intensity laser pulses.

Mourou and Donna ‘s newly invented technique, called chirped pulse amplification, CPA is being used in millions of corrective eye surgeries.

Donna Strickland is the third woman to have won the Nobel Prize in Physics. The first was Marie Curie.

Source: The Nobel Prize