There are different stages of pregnancy, which usually lasts for nine months in humans. Pregnancy constitutes of several physical and emotional changes that may differ in some women. Physical and emotional changes may include general weakness, nausea, vomiting, abdominal pain and back pain.

stages of pregnancy

Giving birth to a healthy and bouncing baby makes moms so proud. This is achievable if you embark on a healthy lifestyle and eat right. Exercises can also help to see you through all the nine stages of pregnancy. It is important to avoid smoking or alcohol and stay in touch with your doctor during your pregnancy.

Stage 1

This first stage of pregnancy starts immediately after a sperm reaches a mature ovum. Soon after fertilization, the egg becomes attached to the uterine lining. Organs, including the spinal cord, heart, and lungs start to form as the egg develops. During this stage, the heart of the embryo begins beating. The fetus weighs about 0.03 ounces and is approximately 1/8-inch long. Physical symptoms experienced after conception include low energy, breast tenderness nausea, and vomiting.

Stage 2

The embryo starts taking shape during the second stage of pregnancy. Before the end of this stage, nearly all internal organs begin to develop, including arms, finger buds, toes, legs, eyes, and ears. The fingerprints form at this stage. The baby weighs about 0.1 ounces and is 1-inch long. Physical symptoms women experience includes morning sickness, increased breast size and mood swings.

Stage 3

During this third stage of pregnancy, the fetal development takes place. Bodily features including the face, toes and fingers are fully developed making the fetus look more like a human. During the third stage, reproductive organs start to form although it is hard to determine the sex of the baby. The baby weighs 1.7 ounces and is approximately 3.5 inches long. Women start noticing physical changes like an expanding abdomen. Mood swings and exhaustion may diminish during the third stage.

 Stage 4

This is the stage where the woman’s abdomen starts to show she is pregnant. With ears nearly fully developed, the baby can hear sounds. Hair and eyebrows begin to grow as well as the lungs. It is also possible to detect the heartbeat of the baby. The baby weighs about 6 ounces and is approximately 5.5 inches long. The mother can notice the movement of the baby in the womb. Some women develop changes in their skin with their veins becoming more conspicuous. As women are always concern about their skin they can use some natural skin care tips during pregnancy, which is available at their kitchen and that will not cause any harm to them.

Stage 5

In the fifth stage of pregnancy, the senses of the baby become active. The skin becomes sensitive, and the baby may respond to light or sound. The kidneys of the baby start to function to aid in the removal of urine. The immune system also begins to work to protect the baby against infections and illnesses. The baby measures about 7.5 inches long and weighs approximately 1 pound. Physical changes mothers experience includes digestion problems or heartburn. In case you feel nauseated in this stage, attend the prenatal clinic for treatment. By the time this stage ends, the mother can notice the movements of the baby.

Stage 6

During the sixth stage, the eye retinas of the baby continue to develop, and the eyelids can open and close. The baby is also sensitive to sound and light. The mother starts noticing the kicking as the baby turns out to be more mobile. The baby weighs about 2 pounds and is approximately 10 inches long. The possible changes women notice includes weight gain, which causes feet to swell and stretch marks during pregnancy. The mother feels energized and develop craving to certain types of food.

Stage 7

During the seventh stage, the baby starts to see and hear and can recognize the voice of the mother and the dad. The lungs continue to develop while bones and muscles become stronger. Eyelashes start to appear, and reproductive organs develop. The baby weighs about 3 pounds and is approximately 11 inches long. Physical changes experienced by a mom in this stage include rapid weight gain, back pain, sleeping difficulties, frequent urination, increased irritability, and pain in leg muscles.

Stage 8

In the eighth stage, the brain of the baby continues to grow. The body of the baby is nearly fully formed as the lungs continue to develop. The baby measures about 18 inches long and weighs 5 pounds. Physical and emotional changes experienced by the mother include breathing difficulties, sleeping difficulties, frequent urination, leg muscle cramps, and heartburn.

Stage 9

During the ninth stage, the baby is ripe to be born and turns its head downwards. The lungs of the baby are fully developed. At this stage, the baby weighs between 6 to 8 pounds and approximately 21 inches long. The body of the mother gets prepared for labor. The big size of the expectant’s mother makes it difficult to fall and stay asleep. She is also excited about becoming a mother.


Pregnancy is a considerably lengthy process which progresses with stages and starts at conception. As pregnancy progress, there are noticeable changes in both the mother and the baby. Taking good care of yourself and the baby is an excellent way to ensure a safe delivery. If overwhelmed by physical and emotional changes during pregnancy stages, contact a health professional for assistance.

References : Consumer Health Digest, WikiHow